Almost Vegetarian Gumbo

I make my gumbo a little different every time I fix it. You can make this soup in a stockpot but as a busy college student I don’t have too much time for watching a stove top so I utilize my crock pot whenever I can.

Begin by putting 2 tablespoons of olive oil in the base of your crockpot, (I usually do olive oil but I had some canola oil that was about to go bad in my pantry so I used that instead). Next place the chopped vegetables in the pot.

  • 1/2 cup of red cabbage
  • 1/4 cup of white or yellow onion
  • 1 cup of okra
  • 1 large Brandywine or Beefsteak tomato
  • 1/4 cup of carrots
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 cans of Swanson low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup of celery (optional)

Top ingredients with seasonings below:

  • 1 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 large bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 2 splashes of Texas Pete*
  • 1 teaspoon of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt (regular salt works fine too)

Cook on low for 3 to 4 hours. Serve alone or with brown rice.

TIP: Be aware that cooking times vary with crockpots.


almost vegetarian gumbo grocery list -1

Leave a Reply

