Chocolate Banana Smoothie

Bananas are another staple for me as they are inexpensive and easy to freeze if you don’t eat the whole bunch before the begin to brown.

Tonight I experimented with making eggplant pizza (recipe to come soon) but I found that my meatless, flourless meal did not have enough protein in it to fill me up. I decided to make dessert to curb me over.

I have a 1970s blender (no joke it is the same blender Jennifer Lawrence had in her kitchen in the film “American Hustle”), and although it has remained faithful to me, I can hear its motor breathing its last breathes.To preserve my gem of a blender I try to always put the softest ingredients in first.

Combine the following ingredients in order:

  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup of unsweetened greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of ground flax seed (optional)
  • 2 tbsp of semi-sweet milk or dark chocolate chips
  • 1 frozen banana (cut into 4 pieces)

Blend ingredients for approximately 1 minute (or until liquified).


 

 

grocery list 2 -1

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Smoothie

  1. Alex Barbry says:

    I love bananas! and I agree that they are a great buy because they are cheap, versatile and full of nutrients. I do not usually include flax in my diet, but if I can hide it inside a smoothie I would be more willing to add it in.

Leave a Reply

