Avocado and Mushroom Panini

I wish my lighting was better for this photo but this is the final product.

I wish my lighting was better for this photo but this is the final product (minus a few bites:). Photography: Amanda Jacobson

Panini’s are an easy way to make simple sandwiches taste much better. If you have the storage space and the 20 to 25 dollars to dish out I would consider investing in a griddle.

If you don’t have one that is just fine, a medium sized saucepan will do the trick. Begin by coating the pan with a little butter, (half a tablespoon will do the trick) and turning the heat to medium-high.

Begin by spreading half a mashed avocado on one piece of whole-wheat bread and then place the avocado-less side on the pan and place the fillings on top of the mashed avocado in order. This will help to keep the spinach in place:

  • 1 sliced mushroom
  • 1 small handful of spinach
  • 1/2 chopped green onion
  • 1 slice of cheddar cheese

Place the second piece of bread on top and let the pan or griddle work its magic for about 2 to 3 minutes (this could be longer depending on your stovetop). Once you see that the cheese has started to melt and the side that has been directly on the pan is lightly browned, flip the sandwich so that the other side gets the same heat exposure.

Serve with carrot sticks and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Avocado and Mushroom Panini

  1. Daniel Stevenson says:

    Mmmmmmm my mouth is watering. This recipe sounds delicious and simple enough! Avacado and mushroom were all you needed to say.

  2. Cory Puckett says:

    This looks delicious even though I am not a fan of mushrooms. I think I will take the recipe and amend it with some meat of some kind but nonetheless it looks amazing. Who doesn’t like avocado. It is like the bacon of veggies

  3. Daniel Stevenson says:

    Mmmm this looks delicious, and fairly simple. I’m a big fan of the grilled cheese, as it was one of the first meals that I mastered. This is an interesting and healthy approach to grilled cheeses, and I’d love to try it. You had me at avacado and mushroom…

Leave a Reply

