Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal bars

I am a big believer in eating breakfast. I think it is the best way to start the day. It is even better when it is easy to grab for on the go, this recipe makes for 8 to 12 servings, (although it generally doesn’t last that long in my house).

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.

Before. Photography: Amanda Jacobson

You are not looking at this photo funny, I live in the mountains and my house is not level:) Photography: Amanda Jacobson

Coat your 8×8 inch pan in olive oil. Next, mix the following ingredients, leaving the flaxseed and water mixture to be stirred in as the final ingredient.

2.5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant)
1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (regular or soy milk would be fine)
2 large bananas, mashed OR 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1/3 cup dark or milk chocolate chips

*3 tablespoons of ground flaxseed set aside in 1/3 cup of warm water for ten minutes before mixing in with other ingredients.

Bake for 40 minutes and enjoy.

TIP: This stays good in your refrigerator for up to five days making this perfect to make on a sunday evening to prepare for your school week.

 

 

oatmeal bar recipe -1

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal bars

  1. These look delicious! I’m very busy during the week so I am all about cooking food at the beginning of the week and having it for the rest of the week. A lot of times I will make extra of a dish and freeze it for when I don’t have time to cook. Have you ever tried to freeze the bars? Just an idea!

  2. Kyle Groetzinger says:

    I don’t usually eat breakfast because I’m always in a rush in the mornings…generally I just grab a Clif Bar or something. These sound delicious though, maybe I could make a change.

Leave a Reply

